The Warrior by Ty Patterson (The Warriors #1)

The Warrior book Cover A Pleasant Surprise – 3.5 Stars

I rarely read a self-published/indie author. My experiences have been bad and the books were worse. I had read many positive reviews of Ty Patterson’s The Warrior and decided to give it a shot. I can honestly say that it is one of the best written indie novels I have read. It is not perfect by any means but it is better written than other novels I have read by “published” authors during this past year.

Plot summary

The protagonist, Zeb Carter, is a security consultant with a past shrouded in shadow. Zeb witnessed atrocities around the world but an event in the Congo has come back to haunt his memories and aims to take him down. With help from the Broker, a man who trades in information, Zeb works to bait and trap a killer while his prey is working to do the same to Zeb.

My Take

This novel is a thriller of the Action/Adventure type. In my opinion, this novel would appeal to fans of James Rollins, Steve Berry and Matthew Reilly. I would say that the authors writing style is closer to Reilly than the first two. The book is short and the action is, at times, frantic.

Like Reilly, the author spends more time developing the action and moving the story than he does developing the character. There is some character development but it is rather minor. Unlike Reilly, the cast of characters is much smaller and Carter is a lone gun.

The author does not waste space. He focuses on what is necessary, avoids filler and gets to the point. Generally, this would be a major drawback in my review. Fortunately for the author, when it comes to action/adventure, I put those preferences aside. Lets be honest, if you are going to sit and watch Die Hard, you don’t want John McClane to sit down and have an introspective moment, you want him to run away from fighter jets and kill as many bad guys as possible. Regardless, the book would have been better served had more space been devoted to developing something other than action.

Speaking of action, this was the best part of the book. Zeb was cool operator who could move quickly and be deadly. The author did an excellent job of writing the action sequences and wrote them convincingly. For the most part, Zeb is a minor superhero but that it pretty standard in the Action Adventure genre. The author’s writing quite good. As I said in the beginning, the writing is better than most indie books I have read. I don’t know if the author had an editor but if he did it himself, he did an admirable job.

Can this Book Stand Alone

Yes. It is the first book of a series.

Final Thoughts

This is very good introduction to the author. While I found that the writing was often excessively “to the point”, the author is a skilled writer. A little padding in the story would go a long way and I hope to see growth in future novels. If you like A/A and if you want a quick read, I would recommend this novel.

Content Advisories

It is difficult to find commentary on the sex/violence/language content of book if you are interested. I make an effort to give you the information so you can make an informed decision before reading. *Disclaimer* I do not take note or count the occurrences of adult language as I read. I am simply giving approximations. When reviewing language, mild obscenities are words like, shit, hell or damn. Religious exclamations are words such as Christ or Jesus when used as profanity.

Scale 1 – Lowest 5 – Highest

Sex 2

The sexual content is essentially limited to discussion of sexual crimes witnessed in the Congo and elsewhere. While the descriptions are not graphic, it is referenced on multiple occasions.

Language

41 Minor Obscenities, 8 F-words, 0 Religious Exclamations

Violence 3

Folks, this is an action adventure novel. If there was no death, it would simply be masquerading in the wrong genre. Violence does play a central role in the story but it is not graphic or gory.

Subsribe to Our Posts

If you enjoy our reviews, have each new review delivered straight to your inbox.

Recent Posts

RSS RSS Feed

Tim Written by:

Tim is a lawyer, sports fan, parent, husband and book lover. He runs his own legal practice and is the founder of The Literary Lawyer book blog and a contributing writer for baseballbabble.com. Tim loves to share his love of reading by providing reviews to entertain as well as provide information to help you make an informed reading decision.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *